Roos Trommelen


INCLUDE brings together researchers and policymakers from African countries and the Netherlands who work with the private sector, NGOs and governments. The platform was established to exchange knowledge and ideas on how to achieve better, and more evidence-based, inclusive development policies and practice in Africa.

Cyclists, Uganda / Rod Waddington

Inclusive development

Inclusive development is about making sure that more people benefit from economic growth and development. It aims to reduce poverty and inequality, in both income and non-income dimensions. Rising inequality within countries and the increasing evidence of its detrimental effect on social and political stability, as well as economic growth, makes inclusive development key to realizing Agenda 2030 and Agenda 2063.

INCLUDE knowledge platform

INCLUDE was initiated by the Dutch Ministry of Foreign Affairs in 2012 to ‘make knowledge work’ for policymakers and practitioners. INCLUDE is an independent knowledge platform that shares knowledge and insights on inclusive development in Africa with Dutch and African policymakers and practitioners, including the Dutch Ministry of Foreign Affairs. As such, our platform aims to contribute to more effective Dutch foreign trade and development cooperation policies, as well as regional and national policies for inclusive development in Africa.

Read more about our vision, mission and history

Platform members

INCLUDE is a platform of African and Dutch professionals. Our platform members bring with them their personal expertise from the field of sustainable and inclusive international development.

Jean Bossuyt Head of Strategy, European Centre for Development Policy Management (ECDPM)
Paul Litjens Strategic Policy Advisor, Dutch Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Maggie Kigozi Consultant, United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO)
Basil Jones Gender Program and Policy Coordinator, African Development Bank
Dzodzi Tsikata Director, Institute of African Studies at the University of Ghana
Edward Brown Director of Policy Advisory Service, African Center for Economic Transformation (ACET)
Njuguna Ndung’u Executive Director, African Economic Research Consortium (AERC)
Fatoumata Lamarana Diallo Senior Economist, West African Monetary Agency (WAMA)
Désiré Assogbavi Director, ONE’s Francophone Africa
Isabelle van Tol Head of Trade Facilitation / Strategic Policy Advisor for Sustainable Economic Development, Dutch Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Josine Stremmelaar Manager Program Support and Impact Unit, Oxfam Novib
Anthony Mveyange Executive Director of the Partnership for African Social and Governance Research (PASGR)
Assefa Admassie Lecturer, Department of Economics Addis Abeba University
Sonia Onovughakpo (Odije) Fajusigbe Economic, Trade and Investment Policy Officer, Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, Lagos
Moussa Toure Investment Promotion Agency of Mali
Adriano Nuvunga Director, Centre for Democracy and Development (CDD)
Nicky Pouw Researcher at the Governance and Inclusive Development (GID) | University of Amsterdam
Rolph van der Hoeven Emeritus Professor of Employment and Development Economics, International Institute of Social Studies (ISS) & UN Economic and Social Council member
Ton Dietz Researcher, African Studies Centre
Maty Konte Economist, United Nations University Maastricht (UNU-MERIT)
Marina Diboma Deputy Managing Director, Netherlands-African Business Council (NABC)
Lemma Senbet The William E. Mayer Chair Professor Finance, University of Maryland: Immediate Past Executive Director of AERC
Cheick Oumar Doumbia President and Founder, Youth For Change Mali
Robert-Jan Scheer Representative of the Netherlands to the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
Marleen Dekker Director, African Studies Centre Leiden


The Secretariat drives and coordinates the platform and is run as a virtual consortium of the African Studies Centre Leiden (ASCL) in Leiden, The Broker in The Hague, and African Economic Research Consortium (AERC) in Nairobi. Our knowledge managers make evidence accessible and available for use to policymakers and practitioners for policy making and implementation.

Obadia Miroro Knowledge Manager, African Economic Research Consortium (AERC)
Manon Heuvels Knowledge Manager, African Studies Centre (ASCL)
Siri Lijfering Knowledge Manager, The Broker
Maya Turolla Knowledge Manager, African Studies Centre (ASCL)
Amrita Mahadewsing Student Assistant
Agnieszka Kazimierczuk Knowledge Manager, The Broker
Caspar Swinkels Knowledge Manager, African Studies Centre (ASCL)
Anika Altaf Coordinator, INCLUDE
Ninja Lacey Knowledge Manager, The Broker
Giovanni Puttin Communications & Innovation Broker

Consortium partners

Steering group

INCLUDE’s Steering Group governs the activities of the platform and decides on its research agenda based on contributions by the platform members.

Isa Baud Emeritus Professor in International Development Studies, University of Amsterdam
Dennis Arends Senior Analyst, Porticus
Nicholas Awortwi Director, Institute of Local Government Studies (ILGS) Ghana
Sarah Ssewanyana Executive Director, Economic Policy Research Centre (EPRC)

Get in touch

The Secretariat of INCLUDE is hosted by the African Studies Centre Leiden.

Wassenaarseweg 52
2333 AK, Leiden
The Netherlands
+31(0)71 527 6602

For general inquiries, please contact